Article Image

Rule 3-3: Doubt as to Procedure

Posted May 14, 2015 in advanced intermediate control rules etiquette

If you are unsure of the rule, or cannot find a rules official around, you have the option of playing two balls for the rest of the hole. Once you come into a doubtful situation, you must announce you are playing two balls and which one you would like to use, if the rules allow for it.

Once you are finished with your round, you must check with a Committee member about the situation before turning in your scorecard.

It is important to remember to announce which ball you prefer to use, because if it is in line with the rules, then that is the one you are able to take. If you forget to announce which ball you want to count for your score, the original ball will be the score that counts.