Article Image

Stymied

Posted July 07, 2015 in crossover rules intermediate beginner

Golf used to not allow you to mark your ball on the green.  If you were to hit a shot directly in your competitor’s line you were not allowed to move it, but instead your competitor had to figure out how to go around it, and was therefore “stymied.” Players would sometimes chip to go over their competitor’s ball, or hit around the golf ball in their line.  

In 1920, a modified stymie rule was put into play, which would allow the stymied player to concede the opponent's next putt. Then in 1938, the USGA had a two-year trial where the obstructing ball could be moved if it was within 6 inches of the hole. This was put into effect in 1941 and was never modified until it was removed from the rules in 1952.